Season 1

Episode 5: Depression



This week we continue into the five stages offered by Dr. Elizabeth Kubler-Ross, namely Depression. If you are feeling overwhelmed, please get help. We list resources below. Our template consists of two basic questions: 1) what leads to a good death? and 2) what leads to a good life? Listen in as we discuss this stage of death and dying.


Dr. Elisabeth Kübler-Ross, On Death and Dying: What the Dying Have to Teach Doctors, Nurses, Clergy and Their Own Families (New York: Scribner, 1969).

Paint it Black, Rolling Stones, Aftermath (1966).

Nova(stylized NOVΛ) is an American popular science television seriesproduced by WGBH Boston. It is broadcast on Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) in the U.S., and in more than 100 other countries. The serieshas won many major television awards. (

Dark Night of the Soul is a poem written by the 16th-century Spanish mystic and poet St. John of the Cross. The author himself did not give any title to his poem, on which he wrote two book-length commentaries: Ascent of Mount Carmel and The Dark Night. (

There are five stages to the Jewish mourning process: 1) Aninut, pre-burial mourning. 2-3) Shivah, a seven day period following the burial; within the Shivah, the first three days are characterized by a more intense degree of mourning. 4) Shloshim, the 30-day mourning period. 5) The First Year (observed only by the children of the deceased). (

National Suicide Prevention Lifeline 1-800-273-8255

Disaster Distress Helpline,1-800-985-5990

The Trevor Project, (866) 488-7386: A 24-hour depression hotline for suicidal LGBTQ youth.

Gilmore Girls (TV Series 2000-2006)


Learn more about Andrew Chirch, David Greenson, and Jessica Shine(hyperlink to either the DF website or various sites for our names?)

Please follow and like us: